October 14, 2010: Four European “Capitals of Biodiversity” awarded (copy 1)

Europe has four new national capitals: Grande Sythe in France, Tata in Hungary, El Real Sitio de San Ildefonso in Spain and Želiezovce in Slovakia are now national “Capitals of Biodiversity”. Over 200 municipalities in all four countries presented their efforts, projects and measures to protect biodiversity on the local level and together demonstrated what local authorities can do to halt the loss of biodiversity in Europe.

The four newly-presented capitals demonstrated the highest level of biodiversity protection and are now allowed to carry the title. Their populations vary between 5.000 and 24.000, but their scale of commitment and the quality of their projects can set the standard for small villages and large cities alike. The French, Hungarian and Spanish Capitals of Biodiversity will present their strategies at the margins of the UN Biodiversity Conference in Nagoya (Japan) later this month.