Spanish Capital of Biodiversity 2010

Participating municipalities 2010; click for larger view

The Spanish competition 2010 was launched the 1st of February. After 4 months of open call, 68 municipalities presented their candidatures to be the Capital of Biodiversity in Spain.

Questionnaires were evaluated taken into account measures and projects implemented by municipalities to protect biodiversity. Special attention was paid to green areas, planning instruments for biodiversity protection, biodiversity in agriculture, forests and continental water bodies, municipal organization and actions related to participation and raise awareness, and monitoring indicators.

Five members constituted the jury: Ana Leiva Díez, Director of Fundación Biodiversidad, Mª Antonia Pérez León, President of the Spanish Network of Local Governments +Biodiversity 2010; Luis Jiménez Herrero, Executive Director of the Spanish Observatory for Sustainability, María José Tegel Bordón, National Authority of the LIFE+ Programme, and Marion Hammerl, President of Lake Constance Foundation.

Award ceremony in Madrid in September 2010

The 15th September the award ceremony took place at the Spanish Federation of Municipalities and Provinces venue. The president of Fundación Biodiversidad and Secretary of the State, Josep Puxeu, members of the jury and other personalities from the Spanish Ministry of Environment, Rural and Marine Affairs, mayors and environmental councils from finalists’ municipalities attended the ceremony.

The municipality of El Real Sitio de San Ildefonso (Castilla León) obtained the maximum prize. Also Vitoria-Gasteiz (Vasc Country), Somiedo (Asturias) and Quer (Castilla La Mancha) were awarded with first prices from their respective categories taking into account number of inhabitants. Barcelona (Catalonia) and Donostia-San Sebastián (Vasc Country) obtained the second and third position respectively in category C (cities with more than 30.000 inhabitants). Puebla de Sanabria (Castilla León), Valle de Mena (Castilla León), Tineo (Asturias), Astillero (Cantabria), Alberuela de Tubo (Aragón) and Sojuela (La Rioja) won second and third prizes in their categories.

Gijón (Asturias) and Logroño (La Rioja) received the Special Mention “Green Areas” and Córdoba (Andalucia) and Santander (Cantabria), the Special Mention “Environmental Justice”.

El Real Sitio de San Ildefonso will participate in the City Biodiversity Summit 2010 that will be hold during the 10th Meeting of the Parties of the Convention on Biological Diversity in Nagoya, Japan, in October 2010.